Home > Serial Killer > Acting at Random – An exhaustive look at the life of Israel Keyes

Acting at Random – An exhaustive look at the life of Israel Keyes

Acting at random

I recently had the pleasure of being introduced to the blog Acting at Random: A Study of Israel Keyes. The biographer of Keyes, Molly Kaneski , has done a fantastic job of illuminating the life of a killer, who five months ago was being held in police custody and awaiting trial. Keyes committed suicide in his cell in December, 2012.

I mentioned Keyes, briefly, in a blog post I wrote for Psychology Today, entitled When Serial Killers Commit Suicide. At the time I wrote this post, a concise history of the life of Keyes was unavailable, and I had to find what I could from various media outlets. Kaneski has put together a very well researched study on the life of Keyes, and it includes life photos, as well as audio and video files pertaining to his crimes and eventual capture.

Keyes worked in construction and had ‘kill kits’ buried around the United States. He researched the activities of other killers and was even compared to Ted Bundy in terms of how well he kept his dark-side hidden and how meticulous he was carrying out his crimes.

I highly recommend Acting at Random: A Study of Israel Keyes to anyone interested in the lives of serial killers, as they will profit immensely from this excellently put together biography.

I am certainly looking forward to the future work of Molly Kaneski.

  1. Orbin Bray Jr
    April 3, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    I’d like to start by saying ,I like what your trying to do and hope your successful at solving some of his victums stores and can relieve their families of their burdens. I unlike them have had some of the same heart ship with a serial killer his name is (Michael Kvam) he murdered three in my family and those where the only one,s he was suppose to have killed that he new ,I guess they say that’s what got him caught. I only know the horror he left in his path but I often wonder what of the other families and if they know he was caught ? he’s here in Michigan. During the investigation police officer from other states came to Michigan and took blood samples and hair , finger nail samples and told me while I was at the station he was a suspect in seven other murders but that’s all I was ever told. But what ever happen after that? all I can say is it would have been a lot harder for my family and I if these men were not caught, oh yes see there were two men that done this to my family but only one was said to be a serial killer. My store is that one of a horrific one but not one that I like to think of but my mind often wonders of the other families….this happen to my family in July 6 1984 in Avon Township Michigan. my name is Orbin Bray Jr a concerned person

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

